Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeEventsPII-ICRC Awards 2023: Journalists from Scroll, Fifty Two, The Print are the...

PII-ICRC Awards 2023: Journalists from Scroll, Fifty Two, The Print are the winners

At the PII-ICRC Awards this year, in the Best Article category, the first prize was awarded to Vaishnavi Rathore, reporter, Scroll, for her article, ‘From Odisha to Kerala, a bus of climate migrants’. Here is the link to her story:

Vaishnavi speaking after receiving the award.

The second prize was won by Ritwika Mitra, independent journalist, for her article, ‘Storm cycle effect – on child trafficking’, for Storm Cycle/Fifty Two. Here is the link to her article:

Ritwika Mitra receiving her award from N.K. Singh.
Ritwika speaking.

The third prize went to Sonal Matharu, senior assistant editor, The Print, for her article, ‘Kuki survivors recount Manipur mob horror’. Here is the link to her piece:

Sonal Matharu after receiving her award.
Sonal speaking.
The award ceremony was succeeded by an engaging discussion that dwelt on the theme for this year’s awards: ‘Stories of Resilience in Humanitarian Disasters: Responses
and Challenges’.Panellists (l-r): Dinesh C. Sharma, senior journalist and author; Urvashi Sarkar, journalist and author; Surinder Oberoi, senior journalist;
Gayatri Ramanathan, journalist and communications professional; and Divya Pushkarna, disinformation advisor, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF).
Sashi Nair (left), director, Press Institute of India, moderated the discussion from Chennai. Marie-Servane Desjonqueres, senior communications adviser, ICRC, joined from Geneva.
A view of the hall as the panel discussion was on.